Exclusive Blog Interview with International Best Selling Author from The U.S, Maria V. Snyder

International Best-Selling Author from The U.S, Maria V. Snyder visits The Land Down Under!!!! During her visit, Maria spent some exclusive time over a delicious High Tea with Read3r’z Re-Vu… We hope you enjoy the exclusive blog interview Maria did with us!!!

What does the “V” in Maria V. Snyder stand for?
Victoria.

When did you first get inspiration to write?
I was always a big reader and I enjoyed being creative. I danced, acted, painted, etc… When I was working my first job as an environmental meteorologist, I was either crazy busy, or bored. It was during those lulls in work, that I started jotting down story ideas.

What is the title of your debut novel and what inspired you to write this book?
My debut novel is Poison Study. I was reading Orson Scott Card’s book, How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy. In chapter 3, Card tells the writer to consider some questions before choosing the main character. He wrote, “Too often—particularly in medieval fantasy—writers think their story must be about rulers. Kings and queens, dukes and duchesses—they can be extravagantly powerful, yes, but too often they aren’t free at all. If you understand the workings of power in human societies, you’ll know that the greatest freedom to act in unpredictable ways is usually found away from the centers of power.” This comment led me to think about a person who was close enough to the center of power to witness important events, yet not be the Prince or Princess. I thought about a food taster and a scene jumped into my mind. I saw a woman tasting food that was most likely poisoned through the eyes of the King. He watched her with heartbreaking horror because he had fallen in love with her. That led me to wonder about this woman. Who was she? Why was she there? Why would a King fall in love with her? And Poison Study was born.

Have you tried vegemite on toast? Thoughts?
I’ve tried vegemite. A friend of mine sent me a jar of it. I thought it tasted like beef bullion. I’m not a fan.

Where is your favourite place to read?
The beach! I love lounging on my beach chair with my feet in the waves and a book in my hand.


What are your hobbies?
I enjoy taking pictures and traveling. When I’m in a new place, I love to just wander around take photos. I also make jewellery, play volleyball, and love to read.


If you had the chance to have a dinner date with any fictional literary character, who would it be, where would it be and why?
I’d pick Valek. He’s one of my characters and we’d eat Chinese in the worst part of town just so I can watch him protect me from ruffians 😉


A flight from the US to Australia is approx. 20 hours? (How long is it?) What would you normally do on the flight?
It will actually take me a total of 30 hours to travel from my home to Brisbane. The longest of my 3 flights will be the leg from San Francisco to Sydney, which is 15 hours! I love to watch movies, so if the plane has on-demand, I’ll spend most of my time watching movies. If not, I’ll read, play solitaire, do Sudoku puzzles, and sleep! If I have a friendly seat mate, I’ll also chat with him/her.


What’s the craziest gift you’ve ever received from a fan?
My readers have been very generous over the years, but I can’t think of anything really strange. One of the coolest gifts I received was from a reader who had been living in Japan, she brought me Japanese candy, a fan and a really cool print.


Is this your first trip to Australia? If not, which is your favourite place in Australia and what do you love most about the Land Down Under?
This will be my second trip to Australia. On my last trip, I didn’t have that much free time, but I did get to spend some time in Byron Bay and that was gorgeous! The view from the lighthouse was worth the hike. What I like the most about Australia is the people! You are without a doubt, the most friendly, kind and generous people I’ve met, and I’ve been to lots of places.


Which one of your books would you like to see turned into a film adaptation?
I believe that my book, Inside Out would be the best one to turn into a movie. It’s shorter than the others, action-packed and takes place all in one location. I think my fantasy novels would be better as television series. Too bad Hollywood doesn’t agree. At least, not yet.


What is your favourite Aussie Dish?
I don’t know of any – sorry! But I love Tim-Tams and Snickers Pods – we can’t get either in the US so I’m planning on indulging while I’m here!!!


As an author, what was the best piece of advice you were ever given?
Persistence! The advice to keep submitting and writing despite the rejections. Truthfully, I didn’t think it would work, but it did! 

The top 10: This or That

  • Ice cream or Ice Block? Ice Cream
  • Library or Bookstore? Bookstore
  • Chicken or Beef? Beef
  • Winter or Summer? Winter
  • Tea or Coffee? Tea
  • Bungee Jump or Sky Dive? Sky Dive
  • Favourite Chocolate: Lemon crèmes
  • Favourite Colour: Red
  • Ultimate Holiday Destination: Beach
  • Famous last words: No regrets

For great insight into Maria V. Snyder’s books, log onto: Goodreads.com

Thankyou very much Maria V. Snyder for spending your time with Read3r’z Re-Vu!!! It was an honour and pleasure to hang out with you and get to know you better, we hope you will return to Australia one day soon.. thanks for visiting us!!!

-Annie

Leave a Reply

