Nathalia Buttface and the Most Embarrassing Dad in the World by Nigel Smith

A great children’s book I rated 4.5 stars out of 5

About the book – as seen on Goodreads.com:
The Most Embarrassing Dad in the World was embarrassing Nathalia even before she was born. He went and married Mum, didn’t he? Mum’s last name was De Montfort. Thanks to Dad she wasn’t Nathalia De Montfort. She was Nathalia Bumole. “It’s pronounced Bew-mow-lay,” Dad would tell her patiently, time and again. “If anyone says differently, the joke’s on them.” But as Nathalia knows only too well, the joke will not be on them. It will be on her. Massively. If Nathalia can just keep The Most Embarrassing Dad In The World away from her new school, then maybe he won’t ruin everything this time. Maybe

My thoughts:
I enjoyed this book a lot more than I thought I would. As a library technician, I am given a whole selection of books to familiarise myself with for the students – and this was a lot of fun!!! The humour in Nathalia Buttface is well placed and had me smiling and even chuckling while reading it, even in public places where I am sure passers by thought strangely of me. The characters were quite funny just like the story. I highly recommend this to younger readers aged 7-12 years.

-Meredith

Leave a Reply

