The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

An amazing 4.5 – 5 star read!!

New York City as you’ve never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough. Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

The Thousandth Floor is a futuristic sci-fi story told from five different characters point of view (POV). In my opinion multiple POV novels can be hit or miss. The Thousandth Floor successfully delivers the story through the five different voices. While I didn’t like some of the characters I was equally invested in all of their stories and couldn’t wait to read what happened next to each character. This is a rare thing in multiple POV novels as I am usually waiting for my favourite character to have their turn telling the story. The Thousandth Floor has the perfect balance of science-fiction, mystery, romance, drama and suspense. I really enjoyed discovering how the different stories fit together, resulting in a climatic ending. This novel had me racing to finish. At the ending I was shocked and filled with a desperate need to know what happens next. A captivating read that has me eagerly anticipating the sequel. If anyone can time travel and is willing to bring me back a copy of the sequel let me know!
-Amanda

Wow!! Well.. this was interesting!! Particularly the multi-perspective structure the author used to tell this story in third person.. It was like watching a soap opera drama that was set in the future. In an era where everyone lives in a tower and the Thousandth Floor is off limits unless you’re part of the elite yet it’s a floor that holds many secrets. A story of twists, turns, mystery, betrayal set among people who claim to be your friend but no sooner stab your back or hire tech savvy people to stalk you as it’s all too easy in this world.. I have so many unanswered questions, I need to read the second book now!!!
-Annie

Dramatic, glamorous and mysterious.. After reading this book, I have to say I really like the world setting in 2118. I wish we have hover covers instead of umbrellas, contacts lens that works like computers, silencing cloak for private discussions, hover crafts, dresses that changes colour, and incandescent flowers that reflects its surroundings. The world building is very imaginative and creative. The plot was also interesting because I was constantly wondering who fell in the end! I liked how it all ties up in the end. This book is like Gossip Girl meets Pretty Little Liars meets iRobot. Recommended for anyone who likes lots of twists and turns, different character perspectives, drama mixed in with romance, mystery and creative world building!
-NJ

Many thanks to Harper Collins Publishers for sending us Advanced Review Copies in exchange for our honest review

Leave a Reply

