Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers

“Family before family”

An epic fantasy fiction book rating 4.5-5 stars!!

In the kingdom of Lovero, nine rival Families of assassins lawfully kill people for a price. As a highly skilled member of one of these powerful clans, Lea Saldana has always trusted in the strength of her Family until she finds her family murdered and her home up in flames. Lea Saldana makes it her mission to avenge her family’s death – even if it means questioning her alliances.

I rated this 4.5 stars – Deadly assassins in a creative, magical world.
I really enjoyed the world building in Assassin’s Heart. You  just can’t go wrong with assassins, masks, ghosts and gods. Throw in vengeance and a pinch of love and you’ve got a sweet tale exalting your thirst for a great read. When I first picked up this book, I thought it was going to be just another YA Romeo and Juliet story but with assassins. How wrong was I!!! it was a tale of adventure, family, choices and devotion. I might be wrong but it has an “Underworld” vibe to it. Recommended to fantasy fiction fans – such an interesting read!!
-NJ

I rated this book 5 stars! I loved this book! the mystery – the intrigue.. an amazing, well written book that captivated me from page 1!!! A story of how powerful assassin families are filtered by tier and tensions rise of power and position and one Lea Saldana harbors a deep, dark secret that just may cost her, her family and possibly her life. I was most impressed with the world building of Lovero and how well explained and intriguing the characters’ beliefs were. I also liked how well defined the characters were by their masks. A plot full of twists, mystery and adventure!!! I am really looking forward to the sequel now!!
-Annie

Many thanks to Harlequin Publishers for sending us an Advanced Review Copy in exchange for our honest review

Leave a Reply

