Everlife Series by Gena Showalter

These are reviews for 2 books in the Everlife Series by Gena Showalter, Firstlife (Book 1) and Lifeblood (Book 2). Having heard and read mixed reviews on both of these, I decided to take the plunge and read it myself to draw my own conclusion – turns out, I thoroughly enjoyed both books and recommend to fans of YA fantasy fiction and Dystopia.

Firstlife, Book 1
ONE CHOICE – TWO REALMS
Tenley “Ten” Lockwood is  17 year old girl who has spent the past 13 months locked up in Prynne Asylum. Her crime was not her obsession with numbers but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live, after she dies… In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, longtime enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon finding herself on the run, Ten has to decide who to trust and which realm to pledge her allegiance..

Although there is a lot of information provided to intricately build this new world, I found it quite easy to read. It call this a dystopian preparation for the afterlife – where our time on earth is only prep for the next life however while we are on earth we are dictated to choose which realm we would go to – Myriad or Troika – those who don’t make a choice are the unsigned and doomed to the Many Ends.. I enjoyed the plot, the way the story was going, the struggles the character faced which did have me on the edge of my seat and I also found the character quite unique with her obsession with numerology during intense times.

Lifeblood, Book 2
I don’t want to say too much about this one to avoid spoilers however this is the continuation of Ten’s journey. “My Firstlife is over, but my Everlife is only now beginning. ” With her last living breath, Ten Lockwood made her choice and picked her realm in the Everlife. Now, as the war between Troika and Myriad rages, she must face the consequences of the decision she made. With an interesting storyline and plot twists, it’s made me want to continue Ten’s journey in book 3!!

Many thanks to Harlequin Publishers for sending me a Review Copy in exchange for my honest review.
-Annie

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

