Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend

Release Date: October 2017
Publisher: The Realm – Hachette Publishers

When I first saw this book, I saw the caption: “A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world–but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination.” And yes.. I agree!!! This book was very enchanting and sends you into a world of Wunder and Magic!!! I loved it so much, I wish I had a magic umbrella now. The book is very well written and the storyline captivated me from page one. Although the characters are young in age, the content is definitely suitable for fans of YA Fantasy Fiction – or fans of Harry Potter!!

An interesting story of a girl, Morrigan, who was born on ‘Eventide’ which is deemed a very unlucky day for a child to be born and all her life she’s believed to be cursed – the cause of all misfortune around her and she her life was to end at midnight on her eleventh birthday however as she waits for this terrible fate to come, Jupiter North appears – whether he’s her saviour or the channel that simply prolongs her fate is yet to be seen – however, Morrigan finds herself swept into this new world, Nevermoor – where she is to engage in several trials to deem her work in the Wundrous Society.I found the trials and magic to be very creative and the world of Nevermoor to be quite unique. A great storyline, interesting and funny characters – witty dialogue and very easy to follow.

There were moments I couldn’t put this book down.. the story is very engaging and OMG.. THAT TWIST!!! (wont say anymore for fear of spoilers).

Due for release this October, I highly recommend this to fans of Harry Potter, Neil Gaiman or fans of general YA Fantasy Fiction.

Special thanks to The Realm: Hachette Publishers for giving me an Advanced Review Copy in exchange for my honest review.

-Annie

Leave a Reply

