The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

“True power isn’t granted. True power can’t be taken away.” – The Cruel Prince, Holly Black

Great plot twists, interesting character conflicts/motivations, and strong female character. There’s a lot going on in this world of faeries, political intrigue, and family dramas. The story centers around Jude, a human girl taken to live among the faery royals. All Jude wanted was to prove herself, fit in and become a well-respected member of that society – however, in her quest to prove herself she soon gets embroiled in unraveling a huge scandal. For me, the romance aspect of this novel didn’t feel compelling, whilst it was explained in the plot why she was bullied but I just don’t get how you could still fall in love with someone that bullies you. That aspect aside, it is a fast-paced story with an intricately woven plot. It also explores Jude’s journey in navigating a world that discriminates mortals and one filled with faery trickery and politics. It explores themes of displacement, discrimination, identity, and choices. Recommended for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses series and The Winner’s Curse series, and readers that enjoys the underdog trope.

– NJ

Book blurb:

Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.

Jude was seven years old when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

In doing so, she becomes embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, discovering her own capacity for bloodshed. But as civil war threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s