Hawk by James Patterson + Gabrielle Charbonnet Blog Tour

A story for a new generation of Maximum Ride fans! Max’s daughter Hawk is growing up hard and fast in gritty, post-apocalyptic New York City. She stays under the radar to survive… until a destiny that’s perilously close to her mother’s forces her to take flight.

Hawk doesn’t know her real name. She doesn’t know who her family was, or where they went. The only thing she remembers is that she was told to stay on that street corner until they came back for her, for as long as it takes.

That was thirteen years ago…

The day that she finally gives up is the moment that her life changes forever because the promise becomes reality: someone is coming for her. But it’s not a rescue. It’s an execution.

As I don’t normally read books by James Patterson, I have to say this was one epic ride.  One that is action packed and keeps you hanging to the very end. It didn’t sink in until recently that this was part of an old series but set much later yet I have been told you don’t need to have tapped into the previous series to enjoy this one – and that’s exactly right. I was able to read this book on its own and really enjoy the action and the story. Although this is post apocalyptic setting, I couldn’t help but draw a parallel to the real world with corrupt governments that rule with an iron fist, violence in the streets and the like.  It really was a thrilling adventure and I enjoyed the characters and their fierce determination for survival as well as their witty – humorous dialogue. I think I’ll explore more of James Patterson’s work, this was really a great read – very fast paced, action packed – not a dull moment in sight. If you’re looking for some fast paced action adventure set in a post apocalyptic world? This one is for you!

With special thanks to Penguin Random House Australia for having me on board the Hawk Blog Tour and for sending me a copy of this book.

-Annie

As Fast as I Can by Penny Tangey Blog Tour

One girl. One dream. A few hurdles.

Ten-year-old Vivian is determined to win a medal at the Olympic Games one day. Problem is, she hasn’t found a sport she’s any good at yet. But everyone says if you work hard enough you can achieve anything, right? So when Vivian discovers she has a talent for cross country running, finally, her Olympic dream might actually come true.

But then a family illness is uncovered and all of Vivian’s plans begin to unravel.

Can she keep her dream alive?

Or will she be stopped in her tracks?

First of all, I need to say that this book made me feel old (lol) as it brought back memories of my school days – particularly the sports carnivals. I as never much of an athlete but I was a fairly good long distance runner and even made it to district/regional competitions. Although I didn’t aspire to become an athlete, as children, we all have dreams and what really touched my heart about this story was our main character – Vivian – and her dream to make it big in the Olympics only to have it snatched away from her on account of her chronic illness. I don’t normally enjoy books that feature illnesses as it is too harrowing for me to read at times but I felt the author really covered this important theme very well and weaved it into a beautiful and engaging story.

The story was easy to follow, touching and the character was very likeable.  I feel this story can be enjoyed by readers of all ages whether still in school or whether they farewelled those days long ago – it brings back a lot of memories (and understanding – imagine if this was you).  Although this was left with an opening ending, I feel it was still a good story and hey – that’s how life can be, this story is regarding a portion of someone’s life, our futures remain an open pathway.

With special thanks to Aus YA Bloggers + UQP Books Publishers for having me on board for this Blog Tour.
-Annie

Kindred: 12 Queer #LoveOzYA Stories Blog Tour

Twelve of Australia’s best writers from the LGBTQ+ community are brought together in this ground-breaking collection of YA short stories.

What does it mean to be queer? What does it mean to be human? In this powerful #LoveOzYA collection, twelve of Australia’s finest writers from the LGBTQ+ community explore the stories of family, friends, lovers and strangers – the connections that form us. This inclusive and intersectional #OwnVoices anthology for teen readers features work from writers of diverse genders, sexualities and identities, including writers who identify as First Nations, people of colour or disabled. With short stories by bestsellers, award winners and newcomers to young adult fiction including Jax Jacki Brown, Claire G Coleman, Michael Earp, Alison Evans, Erin Gough, Benjamin Law, Omar Sakr, Christos Tsiolkas, Ellen van Neerven, Marlee Jane Ward, Jen Wilde and Nevo Zisin.

If you never had to search for place to belong or for friends who understood you, then consider yourself lucky.

For those of us whom ever sat, or sit, on the edge of the realms of common or hetero-normative society, looked for people to call our tribe. Someone who could innately relate to us, whose eyes lit up in recognition, should we describe an intrinsic event, or part of our lives.

The passion-project of Michael Earp comes this anthology of short stories from authors as varied in their careers as they are in the spectrum of the LGBTQI+ community.

From alternate futures where gender is the other and innocent chance encounters behind curtains, to awkward conversations with relatives and internal struggles with the Id.
This book brings unique stories told from the point of view of individuals finding themselves, coming to terms with their identities and discovering similar or like-minded individuals.

Through the voices of the characters, one is confronted with different personal realities where the humanity, inner and outer struggles of these colourful individuals is explored.
Regardless of whether you connect personally with the individual characters, or if you’re an ally, or even someone who is seeking to understand queer culture, this book comes through with stories which are both imaginative and educational.

Included in the book are helpful resources for young queer individuals to reference, should they seek advice or even someone to open up to and speak with.

A wonderful book I wish I had encountered in my teens and which I would recommend for any teen exploring and, or coming to terms with their sexuality or identity.

With special thanks to Walker Books Publishers and Aus YA Bloggers for having me on board for this Blog Tour
-Patrick

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi Blog Tour

They killed my mother.

They took our magic.

They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope. Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good. Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy…

One fantastic way to start 2018, read an advanced copy of this book and it was morbidly fascinating and simply “unputdownable” A book that leaves you with goosebumps – wide eyed – gasping. For fans of Sabaa Tahir and Sarah J. Maas..

PICK THIS BOOK UP TODAY!!!!

The Maji Clans
  • Iku Clan: Maji of Life and Death, called Reapers
  • Émi Clan: Maji of Mind, Spirit, and Dreams, called Connectors
  • Omi Clan: Maji of Water, called Tiders
  • Iná Clan: Maji of of Fire, called Burners
  • Afêfê Clan: Maji of Air, called Winders
  • Aiye Clan: Maji of Iron and Earth, called Grounders + Welders
  • Ina Clan: Maji of Darkness and Light, called Lighters
  • Iwosan Clan: Maji of Health and Disease, called Healer + Cancer
  • Aríran Clan: Maji of Time, called Seers
  • Eranko Clan: Maji of Animals, called Tamers
Connect with the author: Tomi Adeyemi
tomiadeyemi.com
Follow the Hashtag: #NowWeRise #ChildrenOfBloodAndBone
It would appear with my birth month + birth date, I am part of the Ina Clan with the lighter magical power – the ability to manipulate light and darkness…
Special thanks to Pan Macmillan Publishers for having me on board as part of this Blog Tour.
-Annie

Girl in Between by Anna Daniels -BLOG TOUR-

Anna Daniel’s Debut Aussie YA Rom-Com!!

A funny and heart warming, coming of age story of a character who is in her early thirties going through a life transition and having to makelife decisions. This was a story I was able to connect to as I am in my early thirties and I was at a crossroads myself (thankfully this was only career wise for me). But it is true – when you hit a milestone age or when you are in your early thirties and life changing incidents hit, you stop and reflect on what you have done with your adult life over the last 10 years then realise it’s the dawn of a new era – time to make some decisions.. Although this was YA fiction – the author really hits the nail on the head as it has a touch of reality in it.

Girl in Between focuses on Lucy when her love life falls through, she ends up moving back with her parents which no doubt is not easy for someone who’s lived independently then moving back home with their parents. In addition – she’s stuck between dealing with a break up, chasing her dream and hearing the constant nagging from her parents about a reality check. What gets Lucy through is her out there bestie Rosie.

This book is well named!
She’s
stuck between relationships, career choices and family..
What choices does Lucy have to make to have her dream and
will Lucy work out what she really wants to do in life and who she wants to share it with?

A warm, upbeat and hilarious story featuring an interesting line up of characters you come to care about and like me, have giggle moments from start to finish.

BOOK CREDIT
Girl in Between by Anna Daniels is published by Allen & Unwin, RRP $29.99, available now.

BOOK TRAILER
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sc6TIesdNuQ

SOCIAL MEDIA
Twitter: @annadtweets
Insta: @annamdaniels
Website: http://www.annamdaniels.com

E-STORE LINKS
Amazon
iBooks
Booktopia

Special thanks to Allen & Unwin Publishers for sending me an Advanced Review Copy and having me as part of their Blog Tour!!!
-Annie