Vigilante by Kady Cross

Intense, confronting, a page-turner!

Vigilante is a story about girl power or to put it more accurately, it’s about empowering females. It’s an action-packed, easy to read and unputdownable read. The story can be quite confronting and disturbing as it involved detailed sexual assault and dealing with suicide. Our protagonist, Hadley is like any normal high school girl looking forward to senior year but when her best friend Magda committed suicide after being raped by multiple boys at a party, Hadley was distraught by the gravity of what happened. Since the legal system was unable to deliver the appropriate justice against Magda’s attackers, Hadley decided to dish out her own brand of justice on each of Magda’s attackers, she began masking herself as the anonymous Pink Vigilante. Vigilante promotes self-protection and defense against sexual assault. At a deeper level, Vigilante warns of the consequences of taking justice into your own hands. The story touches upon the use of social media for bullying, illustrates the power of women when they support one another, and advocates the importance of correcting societal biases and assumptions against women. I recommend this book for those who wants to read about girl power, “victor not victim” storyline and for those who enjoys a good revenge story. It is a satisfying story as the villains definitely got what they deserved. After reading this book, I was seriously considering taking self-defence classes!

 

– NJ

A House Without Windows by Nadia Hashimi

We had the pleasure of meeting internationally renowned author Nadia Hashimi last Spring when she visited Australia!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Read3r’s Re-Vu group was very excited to hear about her bestselling novels and engaging in conversation about her journey, writing and how she finds time to write while working as a pediatrician and mother of four!

Nadia’s bestselling books include The Pearl that Broke Its Shell, A House Without Windows, When the Moon is Low and her Young Adult fiction, One Half from the East.

Among Nadia’s bestsellers, Read3rz blogger NJ read A House Without Windows. Check out her blog thoughts below.


“Time passes differently through a woman’s body. We are haunted by all the hours of yesterday and teased by a few moments of tomorrow. That is how we live – torn between what has already happened and what is yet to come.” – Nadia Hashimi, A House Without Windows

This book is more than just another story about Afganistan, it’s a story about women – women who helped each other in the most abysmal of circumstances, women who are resilient, intelligent, brave and powerful during times of struggle and fear, living in a strict society with little to no societal status and rights. A House Without Windows is an empowering read that tugs your heart strings. The story starts with Zeba’s husband, who was brutally murdered in their family home. Zeba was imprisoned for his murder despite the lack of witness and evidence. In order to defend her and save her from death row, Zeba’s lawyer Yusuf must find out what really happened. He must also navigate the convoluted, arbitrary methodologies of Afganistan’s legal system. After reading this novel, I must say that I’m still extremely shocked by the truth of the murder! What I really loved about this book is the interplay between themes of truth and morality, faith and law, honour and justice, society and family, magic and hope from the eyes of the characters. Reading these contrasting themes is like watching a riveting dance, it just makes you want to read on. I also loved the thoughtful writing and complex characters, from the powerful Gulnaz, a loving mother but bewitching trickster, to the Mullah with a hidden past; the characters are compelling and raw. I enjoyed reading about the prison sisterhood too, their stories made me feel so grateful to be living in a society where women have rights. I highly recommend this book for readers who enjoyed A Thousand Splendid Suns or To Kill a Mocking Bird. This story is well written, thought-provoking and heartfelt, leaving the reader with much to think about after the last page.

– NJ