The Girl Before by JP Delaney

“The only person you can ever really change is yourself” 

A gripping, psychological read — 4.5 stars

This book is like The Girl On The Train meets Big Brother with a great premise and lots of plot twists. It had me reading through the night because it’s just so fascinating and made me wanted to know more about the characters and their secrets. It’s fast-paced, plot-driven, easy read. I loved how the story is set in a minimalist house designed by a mysterious man, the house itself designed to make the tenant improve their life by following a set of unrelenting rules, and allowing highly advanced technology to monitor the tenant’s mood and well-being. The story oscillates between the present day tenant Jane and Emma from the past, of how they lived in this magnificent but mysterious house… discovering its sinister past and what connects them to each other. This is definitely a great psychological thriller for readers who loved Gone Girl or The Girl On The Train and those who loves an unpredictable twist in the end.

– NJ

Advertisements